Wed 14 May 2008
Bidvertiser Blues
Posted by tel under make money
Following my last post , I’m breaking with my freelance schedule for a moment to make a post that was prompted by an email I receieved this morning.
First a little background.
Its no secret that I lost my adsense account back at the start of 2007 mainly due to my own inexperience and lack of knowledge, so to gain any kind of revenue, I had to look at alternatives. Several months went by with no real alternative so I concentrated on promoting affiliate products instead, which was a partial success, but nowhere near what I could have been making with a decent PPC publishing campaign.
I signed up for the Fair Ads Network (FAN) as they claimed to be creating a viable alternative to adsense with which invalid clicks could not be generated - one of the main reasons people lose their accounts either through their own foolishness, or by malicious rivals clicking their links via TOR proxies so as to avoid revealing their true identities. This would be the ideal PPC rival to a rigid and unrepenting adsense that would not under any circumstances listen to any arguments to reinstate the account.
Unfortunately, FAN was only in Beta and remained so until ealy this year, when they migrated to Gamma and finaly went live on 1st May 2008.
In the meantime, I investigated alternatives for those of use who do not dwell in the US (as a good many of Internet Marketers are not US citizens). Yahoo’s PPC is very good, but not available to us Johnny Foreigners. The next best effort was Bidvertiser.
Bidvertiser is a lot more work than Adsense or Yahoo and the potential to make money is much lower, but it works as an income stream. I put a lot of time in setting up my account on my various websites and started seeing my income gradually increase as my websites attracted gradually more traffic.
Well, up until yesterday, all was well.
Then I checked through my sites on Google Webmaster Tools and found that one of them still contained some of the malware that hackers had dumped on several sites on my server about a month ago. I went in and cleaned it out but instead of seeing the red mist and hitting the delete button, I copied some of the multitude of bad neighbourhood links that were “hidden” inside some of the blog’s posts with invisible “<ul>” tags.
I was already mad as hell so I investigated the owner of the url that featured heavily in that list and found a www. miniamo.com. That domain is owned by a certain person called:
Victoria walsh
PO Box 305
Edgecliff, NSW 2027
AU - That’s Australia, by the way
Tel: 0415144859
email: victoriawalsh@ciroahomewares.com
Oh, I hope she doesn’t mind me publishing her name and details here. Oops, is that an email address that spambots might be able to scrape from this post? Good. You see I probably made the mistake of emailing her yesterday to point out that her site might be the unwary victim of a hacking attack and malware added to certain sub-pages, which are MFA pages. She didn’t respond to my kindly attempt at assistance.
Well, this morning I got an email from Bidvertiser telling me that my account was terminated for generating invalid clicks.
If I was mad yesterday, I blew a damn fuse this morning.
There was no need to return my kindness with malice. I can only assume that she knew perfectly well what was lurking on her website and that she probably knew all about the hacking attack on my server. If that bitch has made a load of clicks on that site she hacked, then she had better watch out.
People who live in glass houses should not throw stones.
If Bidvertiser do not reinstate my account because of that evil bitch, then I’m afraid I’ll be doing a little more than simply publishing her details.







May 14th, 2008 at 7:42 pm
Bidvertiser Blues…
If you ever wondered how to make money online using PPC such as adsense, then had your account terminated for invalid clicks, you’d be scratching your head. So you sign up with Bidvertiser and the money starts to trickle in again. Then your sites get …
May 14th, 2008 at 7:46 pm
Good Blog. I will continue reading it in the future. Nice layout too.
Aaron Wakling
May 20th, 2008 at 6:14 pm
Bad story. I had something like this with one of my sites too some time ago. Unfortunatelly it’s practically unpossible to demonstrate to others that you are not a cammel. Accept. Did you try AdBrite as alternative possibility?
May 20th, 2008 at 9:46 pm
Well, this time it had a happy ending.
I argued with Bidvertiser that I couldn’t possibly be responsible and gave them some evidence about the hacker which must have correlated with their own data and they reinstated my account.
Notice my ads are back!
It also made me re-look at FAN for ads - they are live now and I have placed their block above my post to see how it does. We shall see…
May 23rd, 2008 at 2:32 pm
I´m happy that you got your account reinstated! This just shows that it is essential to have several income streams just to be safe if something like this happens.
May 23rd, 2008 at 7:35 pm
Thanks Tom,
You’re exactly right - we never know what might happen and one stream of income can easily dry up.
In this case Bidvertiser listened to me and must have checked out my data to see that I was innocent of generating the invalid clicks. A big thanks to their tech support for being on the ball.
On the other hand it could have been Google (adsense) and from past experience, they do not see your side of things - once they decide you must be generating invalid clicks they will alwaysd be right and nothing you can say or no evidence to the contrary will sway their view. Their judgement is swift, harsh and unbending. Their sentence is akin to “life” and there is no chance of remission.
Which is why we all need those alternatives!
June 2nd, 2008 at 8:38 pm
Glad you got your account back. Let us know how FAN works for you.
Medic
June 8th, 2008 at 4:02 am
Really bad story terry
Unfortunally some of that spammer never put their true name, address, email in their domain data. But if this one was naiffe at that point, i hope she gets what she diserves!
June 8th, 2008 at 8:11 am
I’m guessing the information was correct at least the email because I emailed it to call them out for hacking my account- that’s probably why I got the deliberate clicks on my ads. So yeah, they are noobs and I reported their host it was hostgator LMAO they’ll be banned for that!
June 23rd, 2008 at 6:40 pm
[...] with another post after a long absence. Such is the nature of this game. The last one was about the Bidvertiser Blues, where I lost my account with them thanks to a spammer clicking my ads on a certain site. Happily, [...]